[Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Scariest Looking Book Covers

Untitled-1I don’t think I read many books with downright scary covers, so I chose some „creepy“ covers (sometimes probably just creepy to me, but nobody else ;-). Another Top Ten Tuesday on The Broke and the Bookish.

.

.

1. The Replacement by by Brenda Yovanoff

the replacement

I love the creepy cover with the scary objects dangling over the old fashioned stroller. This was meant to be a pure cover purchase. Albeit, what I found in the mailbox was this:

2. (Again!) The Replacement by Brenda Yovanoff

n350331

THIS was the Cover I received: For some reason I find the guy so very creepy and disturbing. Makes me shiver.

3. Erebos by Ursula Poznanski

6957_Erebos.indd

Those Eyes (another one on the back side) can get a bit creepy after a while of looking at them. You actually feel watched at some point.

4. The German Covers of the Flavia de Luce series.

8315527

Not all that scary, but a nice old fashioned kind of creepy with her dress…

5. Starters by Lissa Price

11861062

Somehow I really dislike the American Cover with the pencil drawing… Creepy to me.

6. Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

9975679

Creepy face, never sure whether the eyes are open or closed… Brr…

7. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore

5805

Scary Guy Fawkes mask… That smile is so creepy!

8. Verachtung by Jussi Adler-Olsen (again a German cover)

13223832

Blood covered scissors, that is such a creepy image to me (probably because of some scary movies I saw in which the murder weapon was a big pair of scissors).

9. Miss Peregrine’s Home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs

9460487

Not all that scary but creepy: The floating girl in the really old photograph.

Ok, I only found 9 scary/creepy books among the ones I read. Looking forward to see what you guys came up with!

3 Antworten zu “[Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Scariest Looking Book Covers

  1. LOVE that cover for Flavia de Luce, there is definitely something a bit weird and creepy about it!

    I have Miss Peregrine (the first one; haven’t read it yet) and I love the cover, but you know I never realised/noticed she was floating above the ground until you pointed it out? Now of course it seems really obvious! I found it spooky even before, but now… !

    I have a different cover for Ashes but yours is really unsettling. Oh and I really hate that cover for Starters too, I think because I just find it ugly!

    • There are a lot of such pics in the Peregrine-book of other peculiar children, so I guess that’s why it caught my attention. I might have overlooked it too otherwise (I have the ebook because I had heard so many good things and wanted to start right away, but it is one of the books that are way better in print.)
      Yes the german Flavia de Luce Covers are strangely creepy/beautiful. I love them. although I own and read the english versions.
      There is a short story („Portrait of a starter“) in which the drawing from the cover of Starters is being drawn and explained a bit. (By a friend of the protagonist.) I find it a little less creepy since I read the short story but it still made the list ;-).

Kommentar verfassen

