[Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Books I was forced to read

This week’s theme for the Top Ten Tuesday on „The Broke and the Bookishtoptentuesday

.

.

There are different reasons, I felt „forced“ to read a book, so I devided my list a bit.

First, the obvious: Books teachers picked for us to read:

307019 942339

 

Damals war es Friedrich by Hans Peter Richter. A story about a friendship between a Jew and a German boy in the time of Hitler in Germany.

Maria Stuart by Friedrich Schiller, a play about Mary Stuart and Elizabeth I. Really enjoyed it, later I inhaled their biographies.

.

Then there were presents, which always make me feel guilty for not reading them, especially since the people giving the present usually loved the book and are eader to hear, how I liked it. So to me there is a certain pressure which makes them „forced reads“. Although I LOOVE getting book presents especially those my friends loved and thought I would love too.

1430 30585411 Minutes by Paolo Coelho, a story about a young Brazilian woman working for some years as a prostitute in Geneva. Beautiful story and writing.

Playing for the Ashes by Elizabeh George, the first of the Inspector Lynley series, that I read, not the first chronologically, but I got hooked by this installment.

.

There are also Review books, which I didn’t specifically applied for, but then really loved:

730779513482991Das Vorzelt zur Hölle by Tommy Krappweis, a funny story about the traumatic holidays of the author, who was forced to go camping every year with his parents and hated it.

Started early, took my dog by Kate Atkinson, a really nice surprise, this is a crime series that focusses on characters and I liked the balance between humor and melancholy. I read some morein the series afterwards.

.

.

Or those I asked for but had to push myself to actually pick up:

13456738The Uninvited by Liz Jensen, a great story about an investigator suffering from Aspberger’s Sydrome dealing with strange deaths all over the world.

.

.

.

.

And there are also Group Reads, which I signed up to specifically and without force but which were about books that felt like „should reads“, like some classics etc.

461015823480 Catch 22 by Joseph Heller, a weird story about the craziness of war. Great read, so glad I finally picked it up.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, a colourful novel about several people in Russian aristocracy. I was glad to read this in a group that kept me going, it was a bit intimidating at first.

.

.

.

Another goup read which I only signed up for because I had the book on my TBR-pile and felt guilty for not joining:

15717943Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, a beautiful story about past traumas and courage.

.

.

.

.

Challenges: I love taking part in book challenges, there are two which will make a book from my own TBR-pile a „must read“ in the upcoming month. Often those are books I more or less forgot about, as they were freebies and started to get dusty on my Kindle.

776602713450339I hunt Killers by Barry Lyga, I would have forgotten about this treasure if it hadn’t been picked as my next read randomly.

Poison Princess by  Kresley Cole, Another almost forgotten eBook, that was luckily picked to be read by chance.

Eine Antwort zu “[Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Books I was forced to read

Kommentar verfassen

