[Top Ten Tuesday] (One day late) Best sequels ever

toptentuesdayAnother Tuesday. Another Top Ten Tuesday (Ok, I admit it is Wednesday by now, but I had Monday off which means my Tuesday felt like my Monday… you see the problem 😉 ) As much as I love days off, they mess with my head and confuse me all week!

Hm tough theme as more often than not the sequels disappoint me. So I might not be able to make it up to ten books.

1. A Million Suns (Across the Universe trilogy) by Beth Revis

10345927One of the best sequels ever in my eyes as it continued the main story but with a twist, putting one of the heroes from part one into the shoes of the baddy of part 1, suddenly understanding why he did what he did and being tempted to do the same.

2. Game (Jasper Dent) by Barry Lyga

15791383I loved part 1 and I loved part 2. The story continues but gets more twisted and dense. I like the way the story continues, the main couple is NOT splitting up in part 2 and things are just getting more and more thrilling.

3. Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer

13206760I just like the Lunar Chronicles series. (Can’t wait for part 3!) I like the way fairy tales are retold in a futuristic world, but always a bit differently than you expect. First part was Cinder (Which I loved too, I am picky with heroines in books, but I loved both Cinder and Scarlett a lot!).

4. Numbers #2 (The Chaos) by Rachel Ward

7248435I liked the characters and the story of the sequel way more than of the first installment. It made me think of part 1 as merely a prequel, to give the reader some background before the real story starts. Part 2 and 3 are much closer connected and to me the „real“ story of the trilogy.

5. The Winter Rose by Jennifer Donnelly

396266I liked the characters in the sequel of The Tea Rose a bit more because they were quirkier and less perfect.

6. Das Spiel des Engels (The Angel’s Game) by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

4744183I actually read this one before Shadow of the wind and it is set before chronologically. I liked that it was darker and more mysterious than Shadow of the wind.

7. Verdammnis (MIllenium Trilogy) by Stieg Larsson

3174178This trilogy just stays at a great and high level unlike so many others.I love the femal protagonist and I feel she is more in focus in this installment than in the first.

8. The Weed that strings the hangman’s Bag (Flavis de Luce) by Alan Bradley

8315527(Love the German covers) Again the sequel felt like it carried all the good bits from the first installment with a new storyline.

9. Prized (Birthmarked Trilogy) by Caragh M. O’Brien

9424367Here a whole new scenery and story-arch is introduced which I really enjoyed. (Not so much the love triangle stuff which is one of the reasons I often dislike sequels).

3 Antworten zu “[Top Ten Tuesday] (One day late) Best sequels ever

Kommentar verfassen

