[Rezension] Leah Rae Miller: The Summer I Became a Nerd

14744489After a traumatic and humiliating childhood experience Maddie decides to keep her love for anything nerdy secret and she became the prototype of a cheerleader (on the outside) and dates a football player. But when the anniversary issue of a comic book series she loves is not available in her beloved (as it leaves no physical evidence) digital format she has to go out to a comic book shop to buy it, even if it means risking people seeing her and shattering her clean aka unnerdy image. The last edition of her desired book is taken but the son of the comic book shop owner lends his copy to her. Finally being able to be herself with another person she falls for him but having her secret world not kept completely hidden anymore, her two worlds threaten to collide.

I loved the enthusiasm and love that dripped off the pages for anything nerdy. The chemistry between the protagonists was great and I loved how she also fell for his quirky side. The story is told in a pretty fast paced way, which kept things from getting boring, but I would have loved to read more of certain scenes.

My problem was that I never bought the basic assumption that you can’t be popular and liked because you love comic book heroes. So I cringed with every unnecessary lie by the heroine and suffered badly when this led to hurting people she loved. I found the character development of her a bit too staged.
I also never got her cheerleader side, so I had problems to see the benefits of the face she showed to the world other than „not being made fun of“ and „fitting the stereotype of a popular girl“.
The title is catchy and really got me hooked to the book right away, but to me it seems to be telling to much.

I really enjoyed the book overall though. It is light and nice entertainment.

(I received a free digital copy of this book via NetGalley.)4-sterne-schw

Kommentar verfassen

